DO WE CHOOSE LAZINESS?

The simple answer to my question is yes. We have hours and hours in a day to fill with what we choose. Obviously, we can deduct chores, work and other necessary activities in our life but for most people, we have hours of free time in which we can choose to do whatever we want.

I have a routine. I walk home from my lectures, put something to eat in the oven and eat dinner whilst watching Family Guy/ whatever TV show I’m obsessed with at the time. I’m very good at advice, and motivating people. However, when it comes to myself I just don’t have the energy. I procrastinate. I barely have the motivation to do the duties for university work for my degree. I leave my work to last minute, my essays are rushed and my preparation work is the result  of a 2:00 am crazed panic the night before the deadline.

The truth is, we could be so much better. So much more. I see those over-achieving people and I half hate them, half envy them. Bright eyed, they have their healthy snack and detox water in hand before having a 6:00am light exercise before finishing all their work, managing their kids and about 50 other activities without breaking a sweat. I’m not saying I want that.

I just want to make the most of my mind, and my body. Be it for myself, for my friends and family or in the hopes of creating a better future for the other humans on this earth, I am trying to break this laziness, this lethargic nature that is within me. break free from the chains of routine and negative habits.  Can you imagine the world if everyone was the best version of themselves? I feel although this is an incredibly unrealistic utopic idea , we’d have a better environment, more inventions, better health cares and education systems and a genuinely kinder community.

A few weeks ago I did a review of ‘Limitless’ on here, and was thinking about what I would do if I had access to a higher percentage of my brain. but the truth is, we could all be so much more than we are. There is NOTHING stopping me from using my hours to learn a new language, learn three instruments, start boxing / judo / yoga etc. I could use my hours to perfect my cooking skills or writing skills. I could do almost anything I wanted, provided I stopped procrastinating and actually did it. I could be a much better version of myself than I am now. Do you believe you could be a better you? Do you want to be? Well, only laziness is stopping you. And unfortunately, laziness is a choice, a HABIT.

For me, it’s time to break the habit. The first days are actually easy, when you’re passionate. It’s keeping it up and turning it into a routine that’s hard. A little tip- don’t make things too hard for yourself. If on your to-do or to improve list you’ve got countless things ranging from easy to medium to hard, then it’s SO MUCH easier to give up.

HOW?
– So start off with a couple of tasks. Practice every day, keeping up the routine and gradually making the activities harder/ more challenging, or getting more. You learnt a new dance move? Perfect it, learn another/ Done a lot of dancing? great, now you can try that thing you’ve always wanted to do.

– set a time limit- before a wedding, before you move, etc. Mine is going to be 6 weeks from now, when I leave my horrible flat and university and I can go home and see my parents. Because, during my time at this flat I’ve had a lot of emotional trauma. but I’ve decided that something good CAN come out of it. I am going to use this bad experience as a learning curve, and gain something beautiful and wonderful from it. As Silver Linings says, “I’m going to take all this negativity and use it as fuel

– And that’s point number 3. Have a motivation. Because you want to impress someone? you want to be better? You want to do something different, something exciting? Everyone has their own reasons for it, you just have to pick a damn good one that motivate you. Get off your sofa, get working, get drawing, get running. You have an incredible body, and a beautiful mind.

It’s time to use it.

Quote of the day- “The best revenge is to live well”

Leave a Reply

