Afraid of your Passion?

There are many people in life that I see every day, that I have a pleasant conversation with or say hello and move on, and realise that I don’t actually know them. The girl that I sit next to in seminars is nice, but I don’t know what she wants to be in the future. The guy I see in the flat opposite me- does he love boxing, or wrestling? Furthering on my point made on my last blog on who we are, I decided to elaborate. I believe that we are, in fact, afraid. From childhood we are brought up to be scared of being abnormal or outspoken, we are herded like sheep into liking the same music, wearing the same clothes, and everyone that tries to escape this is deemed ‘abnormal’. I went to school without telling my friends that I liked to write, or how much I loved the idea of travelling, scouring the world and trying different cuisines and walking different sands from different parts of the world. I didn’t tell them about how falling in love really made me feel, rather than “Yeah, he’s cute, it’s going well” and I realised it’s because humans have broken communication. We’re used to blunt messages on phone screens and Facebook simplified to acronyms like ‘how r u’ and ‘kl, cy l8er’. I think it’s mad. My point is- from many of my experiences as a teenager, people are embarrassed to be passionate about things. It was like an unspoken rule that when you didn’t care, you were automatically cool. I remember a girl once telling me about how she made a happy playlist on her iPod, and certain songs made her realise how warm the sun was or how elevated she felt and how her day was brightened, with great enthusiasm, only to turn red when the other girls stared at her weirdly and continuing talking about X Factor or Eastenders. I found that people keep their passions sometimes hidden within them, like a tiny secret that only they know- which is strange. Some people obviously shout about their passions from the rooftops, or take them up as careers. But there are a multitude of people that are scared of the reaction they get when they talk about how panting makes them feel- the satisfaction of blending the creamy colours together and watching them darken and adapt. Scared of how people will look at them when they explain the thrill of standing on a stage, with jittery, clammy hands and eyes on them as their heart beats fast until they finish performing, feeling an elevation. I want to tell people that I love the feeling of walking on warm sand, something strangely comforting to me, whilst looking out at the sea- one of my favourite things on earth. I have decided from now on, I am going to be open and descriptive about what I love. So what, if they don’t like reading, or writing fanfiction, or cooking? It’s your passion. It’s what makes you happy- not for other people to judge. That goes for the less conventional activities too! I am going to tell people not only what I watched last night on TV, or what I had for dinner- but something that excites me, that I want to do. Something that will make them learn a little bit more about the real me. And you should too.

Leave a Reply

